Creative Therapies Work Exp.

Posted: March 30, 2015 in Project Development / Applied Research, Work Experience

Project Development and Applied Research requires some work experience to complete the module. I have been lucky to secure two placements; one with the Creative Therapies course based in Caerleon Campus & and one with ShabbeyRoad studios based in Caerphilly South Wales. I am just waiting to secure dates with Shabbey Road. images-1

Creative Therapies

I had attended one session on Thursday 19th March to introduce myself and find out what they required from my skills or services. To pass a module on their course the students are required to record some original compositions. Having none or very little experience in recording live instruments this is where i would come in and assist. Their course is based in the old university studios so I suggested to open up the space for a day or so and run it like a ‘drop in recording service on Friday 27th March. Three students had been interested and after quite a busy day i have arranged to re-open the space on the 16th April for some other students requiring some help..

Tania had a dance track for which she wanted to record a clean acapella. Using a Rode Nt1-a, A Korg interface and Cubase software we layered up her vocals with ad-libs and quickly mixed it down. I also used some basic vocal compression There was a folder of the ‘stems’ or single recorded takes that she took away with her. I asked if she was happy with the work she said yes! 🙂 I also gave her some advice on how to render .wav files instead of mp3s when  sending acapellas to producers for quality. This is what we recorded…

IMG_1719

Vita had written a indian ragu influenced piece with a repetitive drone bass melody and improvised lead with her native instrument the Kankles. I recorded the piano with one Rode M5 and the Rode Nt1-a. I then added some compression and mixed down the two instruments. I would have used two M5 pencil microphones but i only had one working mic stand so working with what i had we recorded this.. 

Laura M-Evans had written a song using her guitar and had never recorded her voice or herself play before. I set up the Nt1-a For her vocals and placed the M5 pencil mic at the guitar. Whilst setting up she was interested in the mic placement and software so we discussed some preferred methods and i stressed the importance of mic choice & placement for quality recordings.

Laura and Jenny had written a collaboration song on the piano. The idea was to get the best possible recording we could of an ensemble piece. Using the Rode Nt-1a for Jenny main vocals and the piano had 2 Rode M5 microphones picking up the piano and Lauras harmony vocals. This is what we recorded…

Conclusions..

I completed the work experience for the Creative Therapies Course over three separate days. I used my own equipment and gained some good experience in dealing with setting up a number of separate projects in one day. I decided to open up the studio the first two days as drop-ins and this proved difficult given that there was high interest in the recording service and students with other plans. To improve the fluidity of a busy day like this I learnt that I should have created more of a structure, maybe find out before hand how many students would like help and in that day assign a couple of hours to each project. The last day was only one persons project so schedule is something to think about when trying to see number of clients on one day. From the feedback from the students and the tutor at Creative Therapies I believe I have given them what they were asking for and to a good standard, I really enjoyed this work and it gave me some scope as to what working Destiny Sessions would be like.

Comments

Leave a Reply

