Website Development

Posted: February 21, 2016 in 4. Major Project / Production. - 3rd Yr., Music and Visual Media.

The best way to make myself and creative services presentable and accessible to people is to develop a website/ portfolio. I have never built a website before, I am my own worst critic and the idea of making yourself a brand is slightly un-easing. This task has proven to be challenging but also fun.

I chose http://www.wix.com to develop my first ideas and i presented this site to my tutors…

Screen Shot 2016-01-22 at 21.27.10.png

Screen Shot 2016-01-22 at 21.27.29.png

After some tutor feedback and a new website recommendation I began to work on http://www.squarespace.com for a more professional finish. I think this above idea still portrays a slight juvenile aesthetic. I decided to invest in myself and bought the domain name and this is when www.anthonyfitzmusic.com was created.

After the inspiring lectures with Stefhan Caddick &  Nic Finch on branding and creating logos i began to experiment with some ideas,

Screen Shot 2016-02-21 at 18.08.27.png

….. I decided i wanted to keep the name and branding with a personal feel so i experimented with simply writing my name…

IMG_2499.JPG

I thought of having a black business card with my name on one side and my website on the other  side…

”Black card with gold thin border, swirls at the corners and the above signature with the small arrow”

After a little experimentation it was suggested to me that i chose a more contemporary colour, one that was bright, eye-catching and appealing to younger people…

Business Card idea 1

Business Card idea 

Next steps…

I have spoken to two students on the photography and documentary film course and they have agreed to take some quality shots for the website! I have had a play around with some ideas, This is the website on sunday 21st feburary, 18:19pm. Still under construction…

Screen Shot 2016-02-21 at 18.18.39.png

Screen Shot 2016-02-21 at 18.18.53.png

Screen Shot 2016-02-21 at 18.18.56.png

Screen Shot 2016-02-21 at 18.18.58.png

Screen Shot 2016-02-21 at 18.19.00.pngScreen Shot 2016-02-21 at 18.19.05.pngScreen Shot 2016-02-21 at 18.19.09.png

Current references I had before the designing of my website was  www.alichant.com. I do like how his website is set out. Its minimalist and professional looking with a navigation bar across the top and separate pages as the navbar links.

I wanted to get stuck in and start building my new website so I decided to go with a more contemporary template on www.squarespace.com with everything linked to the navigation bar headings and links. Also existing in the constant scroll flowing down my website, the main background is slightly  burgundy, each subheading has a black background or uploaded background picture… i can also add media anywhere i choose.

Leave a Reply

