Band Name Development

Posted: April 7, 2016 in 2. Live Performances - 3rd Yr

The band name was originally going to be TEN OF THE BEST. A nice ambiguous term that can be interpreted many ways across a couple of generations… It was chosen for the nice ring to the saying and also that the meaning is left up to the audience member to decide….

After some challenges I faced during this project for example, after practicing sessions my bass player Ed would always finish with purple swollen fingers, My drummer would put his effort in and self soak his t-shirt and my personal concerns for the future of this project the term NO SWEAT was stated after a successful day in the studio. I believe it also has a more grungy relevance given that my music for this project is post 60’s rock / metal / punk!

In order to have the visual representation for the band i originally thought of having a rubber stamp with stencil lettering and an out line. like the picture below…

13070622-Denied-rubber-stamp-Stock-VectorMy girlfriend suggested that my letters should look like they’re sweating so we researched some more…. I also asked Nic Finch who had helped me with my signature and he replied with some instructions

IMG_0143

Screen Shot 2016-04-07 at 20.56.32.png

I REALLY LIKE THE SECOND FONT DOWN ON THIS PICTURE ABOVE, GIVEN THE CULTURAL RELEVANCE OF THE FONT TITLE AND TODAYS NEWS…

Screen Shot 2016-03-16 at 23.55.23.png

 

 

Leave a Reply

