Drum Tracking Session 1… – No Sweat

Posted: April 14, 2016 in 2. Live Performances - 3rd Yr, 4. Major Project / Production. - 3rd Yr.

The No Sweat Ep is about writing music using nostalgia… In my dissertation I covered how we process music internally using nostalgia and presumptions. Growing up I was surrounded by Rock & Metal music… In my teens I followed bands like Red Hot Chilli Peppers, Skunk Anansie, Metallica, Nickelback, P.O.D, and Korn…

I still havnt found a sound of my own yet in regards to performing regularly on the open mic and gigging circuit, I chose to try out my luck and put together a garage band.

Ultimately it was about making a performance of a few acoustic songs have a strong presence on stage… Why not plug the guitars in and turn them up!!

I tried on 3 separate occasions to record using the University studios and came across problems with the desk and configuration i decided to be as resourceful as possible and record the drums at RecordOne Studios with Elliot Paffy. (A fellow student on our course also)

SAM_2027.JPG

We had to build this drum kit out of two separate kits as there was broken pieces and issues with each set…

SAM_2026.JPG

The drum kits had been sat in a shed exposed to the weather for nearly two years… The sound was ‘trashy’ and raw… I Personallly liked this texture on the sound as i wanted the ep to sound like it had been recorded with grungy rock metal in mind. This cymbal above was far too loud so the bits of black tape were to try and create a dampener or something to absorb the really loud vibrations! … Yes it worked!

SAM_2023.JPGSAM_2022.JPGSAM_2021.JPGSAM_2019.JPG

Leave a Reply

